Rail news release 2008

TSB # R02/2008

THE TRANSPORTATION SAFETY BOARD OF CANADA HIGHLIGHTS SAFETY ACTION TAKEN TO PREVENT RAIL ACCIDENTS

(Gatineau, Quebec, November 6, 2008) - The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) released its final investigation report (R06V0183) today into the September 3, 2006 White Pass and Yukon Route train runaway and derailment in Log Cabin, British Columbia.

On September 3, 2006, northbound White Pass and Yukon Route (WP&YR) work train 114, with a locomotive and eight loaded ballast cars, ran uncontrolled down a steep grade and derailed the locomotive and the first six ballast cars. One person was fatally injured and three others sustained serious injuries. The six derailed ballast cars were destroyed.

During the investigation, the TSB found that a number of deficiencies with safety management procedures and practices led to this accident. The railway and Transport Canada have undertaken corrective action to mitigate the risks associated with the deficiencies.

Among the action taken, a full-time safety manager was hired, safety training was developed, load capacities were stencilled on the cars, and a car and locomotive maintenance system has been established. In addition, WP&YR is now operating on its mountain grades with specific train handling and marshalling instructions.

"The TSB is pleased with the safety actions taken by WP&YR and by Transport Canada." said Dan Holbrook, Manager, Western Regional Operations. "These measures go a long way to addressing the risks identified in this investigation. They should enhance safety for the 500 000 people who use this train each year and create safer working conditions for WP&YR's employees".

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

- 30 -

The public report, R06V0183 and photos are also available on this site.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Communiqués

BST no R02/2008

LE BUREAU DE LA SÉCURITÉ DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA SOULIGNE LES MESURES PRISES EN VUE DE PRÉVENIR LES ACCIDENTS FERROVIAIRES

Gatineau (Québec), le 6 novembre 2008 - Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST) publie aujourd'hui son rapport d'enquête final (R06V0183) sur le train exploité par la White Pass and Yukon Route qui est parti à la dérive et a déraillé le 3 septembre 2006 à Log Cabin (Colombie-Britannique).

Le 3 septembre 2006, le train de travaux 114 de la White Pass and Yukon Route (WP&YR) en direction nord, comprenant une locomotive et huit wagons à ballast chargés, est parti à la dérive dans une pente abrupte; la locomotive et les six premiers wagons à ballast ont déraillé. Une personne a été mortellement blessée et trois autres ont subi des blessures graves. Les six wagons à ballast qui ont déraillé ont été détruits.

Au cours de l'enquête, le BST a constaté qu'un certain nombre de lacunes liées aux pratiques et aux procédures de gestion de la sécurité ont mené à cet accident. La compagnie ferroviaire et Transports Canada ont entrepris des mesures correctives afin d'atténuer les risques associés à ces lacunes.

Parmi les mesures prises, un gestionnaire en sécurité a été embauché à temps plein, une formation en matière de sécurité a été élaborée, des capacités de charge ont été inscrites sur les wagons et un système d'entretien des locomotives et des wagons a été instauré. De plus, pour le passage des trains sur ses pentes montagneuses, la WP&YR applique désormais des directives précises en matière de conduite et de composition des trains.

« Le BST se réjouit des mesures de sécurité prises par la WP&YR et Transports Canada », souligne Dan Holbrook, gestionnaire des opérations de la région de l'Ouest. « Ces mesures permettront d'atténuer les risques relevés dans le cadre de cette enquête, amélioreront la sécurité pour les 500 000 voyageurs qui utilisent ce train chaque année, et créeront des conditions de travail plus sécuritaires pour les employés de la WP&YR. »

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

- 30 -

Le rapport final numéro R06V0183 et des photos sont aussi disponibles sur ce site.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca