Pipeline news release 2009

TSB # P01/2009

THE TRANSPORTATION SAFETY BOARD OF CANADA FINDS THAT INADEQUATE COMMUNICATION COMPROMISES SAFE OPERATION OF PIPELINE

(Gatineau, Quebec, March 18, 2009) - The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) released its final investigation report (P07H0040) today into the pipeline rupture that occurred on July 24, 2007 in Burnaby, British Columbia.

The 610-millimetre line was struck and punctured by a contractor's excavator bucket while the contractor was excavating a trench for a new storm sewer line along Inlet Drive. Approximately 234 000 litres of crude oil was released, approximately 210 000 litres of which was recovered. Crude oil flowed into Burrard Inlet Bay via the Burnaby storm sewer system. Eleven houses were sprayed with crude oil; many other residential properties required restoration and approximately 250 residents voluntarily left their homes. There were no explosions, fires, or injuries resulting from this occurrence; however, emergency workers and two firefighters responding to the incident were sprayed with crude oil. Two members of the public were also sprayed.

"In our investigation, we looked at all the factors that led to the pipeline rupture," said Larry Gales, Investigator in Charge. "We came to the conclusion that the lack of respect for on-site pre-construction procedures and inadequate communication compromised the safe operation of the pipeline," added Mr. Gales.

In its final investigation report, the TSB identifies six findings as to causes and contributing factors related to the occurrence. It also identifies safety action that has been taken since the accident.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Communiqués

BST no P01/2009

LE BUREAU DE LA SÉCURITÉ DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA CONSTATE QU'UNE MAUVAISE COMMUNICATION COMPROMET L'EXPLOITATION EN TOUTE SÉCURITÉ D'UN PIPELINE

Gatineau (Québec) le 18 mars 2009 - Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) publie aujourd'hui son rapport d'enquête final (P07H0040) sur la rupture d'un pipeline survenue le 24 juillet 2007 à Burnaby (Colombie-Britannique).

La canalisation de 610 millimètres a été heurtée et percée par le godet d'une excavatrice d'un entrepreneur pendant des travaux de creusage d'une tranchée en vue de la construction d'un égout pluvial le long d'Inlet Drive. Environ 234 000 litres de pétrole brut ont été déversés, dont on a pu récupérer environ 210 000 litres. Le pétrole brut s'est écoulé dans la baie de l'inlet Burrard par le réseau d'égout pluvial de Burnaby. Onze maisons ont été souillées par le pétrole brut; de nombreuses autres résidences ont dû être remises en état, et quelque 250 résidants du secteur ont évacué volontairement leurs domiciles. L'accident n'a pas causé d'explosion ou d'incendie, et n'a causé aucune blessure; toutefois, des intervenants d'urgence et deux pompiers appelés sur les lieux de l'incident ont été éclaboussés par le pétrole brut. Deux personnes du public ont aussi été éclaboussées.

« Dans le cadre de notre enquête, nous avons examiné tous les facteurs qui ont mené à la rupture du pipeline, indique Larry Gales, enquêteur désigné. Nous avons conclu que le non-respect des procédures préalables au début de la construction sur le chantier et qu'une mauvaise communication avaient compromis la sécurité de l'exploitation du pipeline », souligne M. Gales.

Dans son rapport d'enquête final, le BST identifie six faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs liés à l'événement. Il souligne également les mesures de sécurité qui ont été prises depuis l'accident.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca