News release

Reduced rate of climb and excess weight among causal factors in fatal 2012 air accident near Kelowna, British Columbia

Richmond, British Columbia, 27 November 2013  – The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) today released its investigation report (A12P0136) into the crash of a Piper PA-30 near Brenda Mines west of Kelowna, British Columbia. The accident cost the lives of 2 of the 4 people onboard.

On 13 August 2012, the privately-operated Piper Twin Comanche left Penticton Airport, British Columbia, at 14:32 Pacific Daylight Time on a flight to Boundary Bay with 1 pilot and 3 passengers onboard. The aircraft flew northbound over Okanagan Lake for approximately 20 nautical miles before turning west into a valley. This was about 14 nautical miles further than planned due to a lower than expected rate of climb. The aircraft wreckage was located about 2½ hours later in a wooded area near the Brenda Mines site, approximately 18 nautical miles west of Kelowna.

The TSB investigation found that a number of factors contributed to the accident including a reduced rate of climb. The reduced rate of climb was attributed to atmospheric conditions, the aircraft being over its gross takeoff weight, reduced power in the right engine, and the decision not to use available turbochargers.

The investigation also determined that the safety of passengers could have been improved if the aircraft had been equipped with shoulder harnesses to complement the available lap belts. Of note, investigators also established that the risk of a post-crash fire was reduced because the aircraft battery had disconnected during the crash, thereby removing a potential ignition source for the remaining aviation fuel.

Following the accident, NAV CANADA and Transport Canada have added information on recommended altitudes when departing the Okanagan Valley and suggest flying routes between Princeton, Brenda Mines, highway 97C and Okanagan Lake. As well, a new sign was installed at the Penticton Airport advising pilots to climb to 5000 feet prior to turning west or east when departing the Okanagan Valley.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Communiqué de presse

Un taux de montée réduit et un poids excessif parmi les facteurs qui ont causé un accident aérien mortel en 2012 près de Kelowna (Colombie-Britannnique)

Richmond (Colombie-Britannnique), le 27 novembre 2013 – Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a publié aujourd’hui son rapport d'enquête (A12P0136) sur l'écrasement d'un Piper PA-30 près de la mine Brenda à l'ouest de Kelowna (Colombie-Britannnique). L'accident a coûté la vie à deux des quatre personnes à bord.

Le 13 août 2012, le Piper Twin Comanche privé quitte l'aéroport de Penticton (Colombie-Britannique) à 14 h 32, heure avancée du Pacifique, en direction de Boundary Bay avec à son bord un pilote et trois passagers. L'avion vole en direction nord sur une distance d'environ 20 milles marins, en survolant le lac Okanagan, avant de virer à l'ouest dans une vallée. Ce virage est effectué environ 14 milles marins plus loin que prévu en raison d'un taux de montée plus faible que prévu. L'épave de l'avion est localisée approximativement 2 heures et demie plus tard dans une zone boisée à proximité du site de la mine Brenda, à environ 18 milles marins à l'ouest de Kelowna.

L'enquête du BST a révélé que plusieurs facteurs avaient contribué à cet accident, dont un taux de montée réduit. Ce faible taux de montée a été attribué aux conditions atmosphériques, à une masse de l'avion au décollage supérieure à la limite, à une baisse de la puissance du moteur droit et à la décision de ne pas utiliser les turbocompresseurs disponibles.

L'enquête a également permis de déterminer que les passagers auraient été plus en sécurité si l'avion avait été équipé de bretelles de sécurité en plus des ceintures abdominales standard. Fait à noter, les enquêteurs ont aussi établi que le risque d'incendie après impact était moins élevé parce que la batterie de l'avion s'était déconnectée au moment de l'écrasement, éliminant ainsi une source d'inflammation possible du carburant restant.

Par suite de cet accident, NAV CANADA et Transports Canada ont ajouté de l'information sur les altitudes recommandées au départ de la vallée de l'Okanagan et proposent des routes entre Princeton, la mine Brenda, la route 97C et le lac Okanagan. De plus, un nouveau panneau qui a été installé à l'aéroport de Penticton conseille aux pilotes de monter jusqu'à 5 000 pieds avant de virer à l'ouest ou à l'est lorsqu'ils quittent la vallée de l'Okanagan.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca