News release

Transportation occurrences on the rise in Canada

Gatineau, Quebec, 26 March 2013 – Today, the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) released its 2013 statistical highlights for Canadian marine, pipeline, railway and aviation occurrences. A total of 3395 transportation occurrences (accidents and incidents) were reported to the TSB. Overall, the number of accidents increased by 3% from 2012. Compared to the five-year average, the number of incidents increased, yet the number of accidents (more severe occurrences) decreased by 4%. Of note, aviation accidents in 2013 decreased by 5% from the previous year. The number of fatalities rose in 2013, largely due to the number of deaths at Lac-Mégantic.

There were 305 marine accidents reported in 2013, a 6% increase over 2012. However, there was a 15% decrease from the 2008–2012 average of 357. The number of lost vessels decreased significantly, with 15 vessels reported lost in 2013, down from 24 in 2012, and down from the five-year average of 27. Fishing vessel fatalities totalled 16 in 2013, up from 6 in 2012, and from the five-year average of 11. There were 716 marine incidents reported in 2013.

The pipeline industry reported 11 accidents in 2013, up from 7 in 2012, and up from the 2008–2012 average of 9. However, the number of pipeline incidents decreased, with 118 in 2013, down from 173 the year before. The last fatal accident involving a pipeline under federal jurisdiction occurred in 1988. The comprehensive pipeline statistics for 2013 are available.

A total of 1067 rail accidents were reported to the TSB in 2013, a 4% increase from the 2012 total of 1027, but comparable to the five-year average of 1070. There were 127 rail-related fatalities in 2013, including the 47 lives lost in the Lac-Mégantic accident, up from 83 in 2012, and up from the five-year average of 76. Accidents involving dangerous goods also increased, with 144 in 2013, up from the 2012 total of 119, and from the five-year average of 133. Of these, 7 resulted in the release of dangerous goods. Rail incidents decreased, with a total of 218 incidents, down from 235 in 2012. The comprehensive rail statistics for 2013 are available.

In the aviation industry, 275 accidents were reported to the TSB in 2013, a 5% decrease from the 2012 total of 291, and a 4% decrease from the 2008–2012 average of 285. Commercial air operators were involved in 23% of accidents, half of them involving air taxis. Fatal accidents were down to 36 in 2013, compared to 42 the year before, but the number of fatalities remained the same at 63. There were 685 aviation incidents reported to the TSB.

The 2013 comprehensive occurrence statistics for aviation and marine transportation will be released when they become available.

A reportable transportation occurrence is an accident or incident associated with the operation of a ship, pipeline, railway rolling stock or aircraft under federal jurisdiction as defined in the TSB Regulations.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Communiqué de presse

Augmentation du nombre d’événements dans le domaine du transport au Canada

Gatineau (Québec), le 26 mars 2014 — Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST) a publié aujourd'hui les faits saillants de ses statistiques de 2013 sur les événements maritimes, de pipelines, ferroviaires et aéronautiques canadiens. Au total, en 2013, 3395 événements (accidents ou incidents) ont été signalés au BST. Globalement, le nombre d'accidents a augmenté de 3 % par rapport à 2012. Comparativement à la moyenne sur cinq ans, le nombre d'incidents est à la hausse, mais le nombre d'accidents (les événements plus graves) a diminué de 4 %. Il est à noter qu'en 2013, le nombre d'accidents aéronautiques a chuté de 5 % par rapport à l'année précédente. Le nombre de décès a augmenté en 2013, principalement en raison du nombre de personnes qui ont perdu la vie à la suite de l'accident de Lac-Mégantic.

En 2013, on a signalé 305 accidents maritimes, soit une hausse de 6 % comparativement à 2012, mais une diminution de 15 % par rapport à la moyenne de 357 pour la période de 2008 à 2012. Quinze navires ont été déclarés perdus en 2013, soit une baisse par rapport aux 24 signalés en 2012 et à la moyenne sur cinq ans de 27 navires. En 2013, il y a eu un total de 16 décès liés à des accidents mettant en cause des navires de pêche, soit une augmentation par rapport aux 6 décès survenus en 2012, et par rapport à la moyenne sur cinq ans de 11 décès. En 2013, 716 incidents maritimes ont été signalés au BST.

Onze accidents de pipelines ont été signalés en 2013, soit plus que le total de 7 en 2012 et que la moyenne annuelle de 9 accidents pour la période de 2008 à 2012. Le nombre d’incidents de pipelines est toutefois en baisse avec 118 incidents en 2013, comparativement à 173 en 2012. Le dernier accident mortel mettant en cause un pipeline relevant de la compétence fédérale remonte à 1988. Les statistiques de pipeline complètes de 2013 se trouvent sur ce site.

Au total, 1067 accidents ferroviaires ont été signalés au BST en 2013, soit une augmentation de 4 % par rapport au total de 1027 en 2012, mais un nombre comparable à la moyenne annuelle sur cinq ans de 1070. Les décès liés à des accidents ferroviaires ont atteint 127 en 2013, ce qui comprend les 47 décès survenus à la suite de l’accident de Lac-Mégantic. Il s’agit d’une augmentation par rapport aux 83 décès relevés en 2012 et à la moyenne annuelle sur cinq ans de 76. Le nombre d’accidents mettant en cause des matières dangereuses a aussi augmenté en 2013, atteignant 144, contre 119 en 2012, la moyenne annuelle sur cinq ans étant de 133. Sept de ces accidents ont donné lieu à des fuites de matières dangereuses. Le nombre d’incidents ferroviaires est en baisse avec 218 incidents en 2013, contre 235 en 2012. Les statistiques ferroviaires complètes de 2013 se trouvent sur ce site.

En 2013, 275 accidents aéronautiques ont été signalés au BST, soit une diminution de 5 % par rapport aux 291 déclarés en 2012 et de 4 % par rapport à la moyenne de 285 pour la période de 2008 à 2012. Des appareils de transporteurs commerciaux ont été en cause dans 23 % des accidents, la moitié de ces appareils étant des taxis aériens. Il y a eu 36 accidents mortels en 2013, contre 42 accidents mortels en 2012, mais le nombre de décès est demeuré à 63. En 2013, on a signalé 685 incidents aéronautiques au BST.

Les statistiques complètes de 2013 relatives aux domaines du transport aéronautique et maritime seront publiées dès qu’elles seront disponibles.

Par événement de transport à signaler, on entend tout accident ou incident lié à l'exploitation d'un navire, d'un pipeline, de matériel roulant ferroviaire ou d'un aéronef de compétence fédérale. On trouvera la définition de ces moyens de transport dans le Règlement sur le Bureau de la sécurité des transports.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca